Thursday, February 9, 2012

Bangladesh Premier League 2012 (BPL) Opening Ceremony

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 opening ceremony will take place at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium (SBNS) in Mirpur on February 9 at 6pm in the evening. Channel 9 will broadcast the BPL T20 Opening Ceremony Live.

Indian and local silver screen stars and singers will perform in the opening ceremony of the inaugural season of BPL T20 tournament. President Zillur Rahman will inaugurate the first edition of the competition involving six franchises — Barisal Burners, Chittagong Kings, Dhaka Gladiators, Khulna Royal Bengals, DurontoRajshahi and Sylhet Royals.

The tournament proper will kick off on February 10 with Barisal Burners taking on Sylhet Royals at 2pm and Chittagong Kings locking horns with Duronto Rajshahi at 6.30pm.

“The duration of the opening ceremony will be nearly three hours and I hope everyone will enjoy it. The silver screen stars and singers from India and Bangladesh will perform in the show. There will also be a segment dedicated to the International Mother Language Day,” informed Gazi Ashraf Hossain, chairman of the BPL governing body, yesterday.

Channel9 will telecast BPL T20 Opening Ceremony & Matches Live

Bipasha Basu, Malaika Arora Khan, Ritu Parna Sengupta from India while Shamim Ara Nipa and Shibli Mohammad, Shakib Khan and Apu Bishwas from Bangladesh confirmed their participation in the opening extravaganza.

Indian singers Bappi Lahiri and Shaan also confirmed their participation along with Ayub Bacchu, Mila and popular band Miles from Bangladesh.

BPL opening ceremony tickets went on sale yesterday at the ten different branches of Dhaka Bank in Dhaka City only.

The opening ceremony will start from 6pm and will last for 3 hours till the cracking fireworks lit the Dhaka night sky.

Meanwhile, foreign cricketers and experts have already started to arrive in the capital as Michael Baven, Dean Jones, Sanath Jayasuriya, Robin Singh, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan arrived in the capital while South African Herschelle Gibbs, West Indian Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Pakistani Azhar Mahmood are expected to arrive today.

tags: Bangladesh Premier League T20, 2012 Bangladesh Premier League, T20 Live Opening Ceremony, BPL 2012 Live Opening Ceremony, BPL 2012 Opening Ceremony, Live BPL T20, 2012 BPL, T20 2012 Live Opening Ceremony

Thursday, February 2, 2012

Chittagong Kings BPL Theme Songs 2012

This is the Chittagong Kings BPL Theme Songs 2012, at this time this is the popular songs for all of the Chittagong young people.
Singer : Raisul Islam Chowdhury Raju
Curios: Hm Rana
Afroza Rahman Akhi
Sheikh Neelima Shoshi
Tune & Compose : Sajib Das

Monday, January 23, 2012

Bangladesh Premier League

Bangladesh Premier League
Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in Bangladesh, based on the format of the Indian Premier League. The first edition of the tournament will start on 10 February 2012 with six franchises consisting of players from around the world.

Bangladesh Premier League

Countries: Bangladesh
Administrator: BCB
Headquarter: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Format: Twenty20
First tournament: 2012
Tournament format: Double round- and Knockout
Number of teams: 6
Qualification: Twenty20 Champions League
Website: N/A

After watching the success of Indian Premier League IPL the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) decided to organize its own professional T20 league with a simillar concept.

The BCB selected Game On from three Indians firms who had submitted a financial offer to manage the tournament. BCB spokesman Jalal Yunus said: "Initially Game On will deposit the proportionate amount of guaranteed money for two seasons to our account," he said after an emergency BCB meeting. Twenty20 cricket is becoming increasingly popular in Bangladesh since neighboring India launched the IPL four years ago.

First season
Main article: 2012 Bangladesh Premier League

The inaugural season of the tournament will start on 9 February on 2012 with an opening ceremony with the first match to start on 10 February 2012 and will finish with the final on 29 February 2012. A totalof 33 matches are scheduled, all of which will be played at two stadiums, Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium and Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium. Each team will play each team twice, both at home and away in a round robin system. The top four teams at the end of the round robin stage will progress to the knockout stage.

6 League Teams

The 6 divisional cities were chosen as the franchise teams to participate in the tournament. Among the 7 divisions in Bangladesh 6 of them were chosen with the exception of Rangpur. It has been left out as it doesn't have much cricketing background and is a newer division. BCB is expecting full crowd support from the people of the respective divisions.

The minimum bidding price fof franchise is $1 million. The franchise owners are now

in possession of the franchise for six year and can only sell it after three years.

Team Name: Barisal Burners
Division: Barisal
Owner: Alif Group Bangladesh
Price: U$ 1.01 Million
Captain: Shahriar Nafees
Head Coach: Sarwar Imran
Icon Player: Shahriar Nafees

Team Name: Chittagong Kings
Divisiion: Chittagong
Owner: SQ Sports
Price: U$ 1.20 Million
Captain: Mahmudullah
Head Coach: Khaled Mahmud
Icon Player: Tamim Iqbal

Team Name: Dhaka Gladiators
Divisiion: Dhaka
Owner: Europa Group
Price: U$ 1.05 Million
Captain: Mohammad Ashraful
Head Coach: Ian Pont
Icon Player: Shahid Afridi

Team Name: Khulna Royal Bengal
Divisiion: Khulna
Owner: Orion Group
Price: U$ 1.10 Million
Captain: Shakib Al Hasan
Head Coach:
Icon Player:Shakib Al Hasan

Team Name: Duronto Rajshahi
Divisiion: Rajshahi
Owner: Digital Auto Care
Price: U$ 1.07 Million
Captain: Mushfiqur Rahim
Head Coach: Khaled Mashud
Icon Player: Mushfiqur Rahim

Team Name: Sylhet Royals
Divisiion: Sylhet
Owner: Walton Group Bangladesh
Price: U$ 1.06 Million
Head Coach: AustraliaStuart Law
Icon Player: Alok Kapali


There are five ways that a franchise can acquire a player. In the annual auction, buying domestic players, signing uncapped players, through trading and buying replacements. In the trading window players can only be traded with his consent. The franchise will have to pay the difference between the old contract price and the new contract price. If the new contract is worth more than the older one then the difference will be shared between the player and the franchise selling the player.

Each team will consist of 18 players with a maximum of 8 international players, up to 5 of which will be allowed to player in a match.

Broadcasting Rights

As of more development on BPL 2012 T20 cricket, Virgo Media Channel 9 Bangladesh was named as the official broadcaster. Along with Channel 9, there is a very good possibility that either ESPN or TEN Sports will share the broadcast along with any three or four foreign television channels.Recently on 6th January 2012 the management of BPL have confirmed that TEN SPORTS will be the official broadcast partner of BPL. The recent news confirmed that ESPN or Star Sports may also be online.


Destiny Group is the Title Sponsor of Bangladesh Premier League for first season. They bought the sponsorship for 9 m USD.